1st Trimester
Options

A legit progesterone suppository question

I just picked up my suppostories tonight - they are the compounded progesterone types (not sure if that info matters).

Anyway, I've never used these before. My question is, and sorry if this sounds weird, how far up there do I put them? Do I try to get them as close to the cervix as possible, or do I just need to generally get them in there? Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I'm very clueless.  

ETA: Also, are there any side effects I should know about?

I think the pharmacist may have been as uncomfortable as I was during the suppository-money exchange. He wasn't offering much info and I wasn't offering much by way of questions. 

Married since 2008 | TTC #1 since 2011

2 losses: Nov '11 and Aug '12
Dx: Feb '13 - HSG shows clear tubes but minor diverticulitis; Borderline DOR; Low DHEA and low testosterone.
Moving on to IUI or IVF.

3.4.13:  Holy crap! Surprise natural BFP on cycle #19. EDD 11.12.13
We've got a peen.....it's a boy! 
Little man born 11.17.2013 via c-section

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: A legit progesterone suppository question

• Options

You don't need to push them that far up. Just be aware that if you do hit your cervix, you'll likely cramp more than if you don't. Cramping can be totally normal with prog suppositories.

ETA: my pharmacist was similar. He gave them to me and was like, "uh, here you go. If you have questions you should call your dr." He seemed so embarrassed and didn't even ask if I knew how to use them, just told me to read the pamphlet.

• Options
    Press it like a tampon till you can't get it any further...