September 2012 Moms

Pump question - which one?

So I have a bit of a dilemma regarding choosing a pump.

I will be working part time, up to 20 hrs a week as a mobile children's therapist.  I am a contractor, so I only get paid the hours I work, not any travel to and from the family's homes/kids' schools. 

The Medela PISA is simply not in my budget no matter how we try to swing it, but i got the Medela Swing using a bunch of gift cards.

I'm really starting to wonder if I really should get a double and try to pump while driving (using handsfree obviously) to reduce my unpaid time out of the house.

I was looking at the double electrics that are close in price to the Swing single, and saw the Lansinoh Affinity.  Reviews aren't as good as they are for the Swing.

So my question - keep the "better" brand single pump, or exchange for a double pump that is not as good?  I'm not sure what the better option is!

[Poll]
Little B 9.20.12

Re: Pump question - which one?

• I was in the same situation when I pumped with ds (no budget for a double). Someone bought a Medela Swing for me from my registry. I kept telling dh that it was taking too long to pump since you need to pump each side for 20 mins. He suggested buying another Swing and using the hands free bra. Best idea ever!!!! So now it's like I have a double.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I had a Lansioh last time because it was made by Ameda. They've stopped selling under that brand. I'm getting another Ameda for this LO. It's a double pump (much better than single for quicker pumping) and Ameda is the brand most hospitals use. They had me pump in the hospital with a pump they brought in and the kit was sent home with me and gave me a spare one. It was great. They work equally well to the Nedela and are so much cheaper. The best price I've found so far is on Amazon. It was a tad under the Ameda web site. GL.