Success after IF
Options

IVF & Natural Birth- Encouragement & Advice

I'm posting here & the NB board.

I'm a midwife, pregnant with my first baby. I had 2 natural pregnancies with miscarriages, 3 failed IUI's & 2 IVF's- my second one resulted in this pregnancy with a singleton.

Having infertility & IVF has changed the way I see my body & myself as a woman. I know it sounds silly but I'm totally terrified of labor. My practice considers IVF high risk & I will be watched very closely at the end. I'm afraid I'll be induced, I'm giving birth in the hospital.

I love birth & babies & became a midwife because of it. I really want to have a natural & spontaneous birth.

Has anyone had natural birth after IVF? Did you have any fears like mine? How did you reconcile needing "help" getting the baby in & not wanting or needing "help" getting it out??

TTC since 1/2008
BFP 7/2009 m/c
BFP 9/2009 m/c
Clomid IUI 12/2010, 1/2011, 2/2011 All BFN
IVF #1 6/2011 BFN, no frosties
IVF #2 2/2012 BFP
DD born 10/2012
FET 9/3/2013 BFN, no more frosties
IVF # 3 11/3/13 Canceled after retrieval d/t severe OHSS, 3 frosties
FET #3 2/2014 BFP Twins!
B/G Twins born 9/2014 at 36w4d

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: IVF & Natural Birth- Encouragement & Advice

• Options

I had a beautiful, unmedicated hospital birth following both an IVF conception and then an FET conception. :-)

DS #1 born 11/23/06 - our IVF miracle! Missing our sweet baby who was spontaneously conceived. 20 week loss on 6/24/10. DS #2 born 10/22/11 at 38w1d after FET #1. Life is GOOD!!!!!
  • Options
    I don't see why you couldn't have a natural birth after IVF. I ended up on pitossin and getting an epidural, but that's because my water broke and I wasn't progressing after several hours, not because I did IVF.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Options