Working Moms

Pumping at work

I'm a teacher and only need to return to work for the last 8 days of school this year. I have a double electric pump, and I have been practicing using it for my return.

My question is, how often should I pump at work? I won't be able to space out my pumping exactly with when my daughter will be eating at home, but I might be able to get in 4 pumping sessions during my lunch/planning periods.

How many times a day at work do you pump? How old is/will your LO be when you return to work?

I guess I'm just worried about how pumping will affect my milk supply. I really don't want to have to continue pumping like I would at work over the summer vacation, especially since I only have to do it for 8 days :-/

TIA! 

Re: Pumping at work

• That's pretty cool you only have to do it 8 days this year.  I went back when DS was six weeks old and only pump twice a day.  There are also other factors involved including storage capacity.  However, whatever you do for those 8 days won't affect your supply long term. 
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic image
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I pump 3 times, every 3 hours. If she were home with me she would be feeding more frequently, but a good deal of that is cluster feeding mixed with some comfort sucking. When we get home from work and DC she does nurse a bunch until she's ready for bed. That evening nursing will help with supply. You could try pumping before work and or before your bed time to tell your body to keep up your supply. It will also help keep enough milk handy for your LO. I need to add a regular daily at home pump session so I can ditch her formula bottle. What I get a work only covers 2 of her 3 DC bottles.
    DD born January 2012 Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker image image image
  • Loading the player...