June 2012 Moms
Options

Growth Scan question

Hey all,

I'm just curious, this is my first pregnancy, i'm 30 weeks pregnant and I have gained ~12 pounds.  At my  last doc appointment, I gained a solid 2 pounds, but my obgyn wants to do a growth scan on me, should I be worried??  Trust me, I eat 3 meals a day and lots of snacks.  Everyone at work is always saying how small I am carrying, but I am a pretty active person, I do light cardio 2 x week for ~45 minutes, pre natal yoga 1-2 a week, and I work in healthcare, so I am on my feet all day running around.  I dunno, I thought I was doing pretty good with my weight and just figured I would pop at the end--my mom told me she carried like I am with all 3 kids and gained most of her weight at the end.  I wasn't concerned initially, but of course I started reading about growth scans on the internet and I just freaked myself out :(

Re: Growth Scan question

• Options

She probably wants to make sure that your baby is healthy.  I wouldn't be worried, but I still would be proactive.

You could be carrying low, having a small baby, have low fluid, etc.   

To my boys:  I will love you for you Not for what you have done or what you will become I will love you for you I will give you the love The love that you never knew
  • Options

I've got a growth scan tomorrow - I'm measuring about 2weeks behind and they just want to make sure that the baby is fine. I have no risk factors for a small baby, this is just a precaution. Better safe than sorry, right?

I am freaked out too, but I am trying to look at it in a positive way. Let us know how it goes?

pregnancy pregnancy
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

I have only gained about 11 pounds and I will be 30 weeks on Friday. My doctor has not seemed concerned and has not told me anything about a growth scan. My belly seems to be growing right on track, so he says when I see him. I am seeing him every twos weeks though.