Adoption
Options

New...and nervous

Hi, everyone.  I'm a super newbie...just joined today.  I hope you don't mind if I jump in on the posts.

My husband and I are considering adoption.  We are torn between adoption and TTC our own.  I know I can conceive, but I'm not sure I can ever carry to term.  I was found to have Factor V Leiden, a blood clotting gene mutation that caused my first miscarriage a little less than a year ago.  It emotionally tore me to pieces...still have baby clothes hanging in my closet.  I know plenty of women with this gene mutation have gone on to deliver healthy babies, but I had many medical complications after the miscarriage for months that may suggest another pregnancy would certainly be high risk.  I'm nervous about my health if we want to TTC again...so I'm very hesitant to go that route.  At the same time, the thought of giving a child in need of a loving home is exhilarating.  I'm just not sure what we will decide our next step will be.

I'm not really sure what I'm looking for here.  I know nothing about the adoption process, so maybe I shouldn't just jump right in and post something...but that's just my personality.  :)

I wanted to see if anyone had one really good piece of advice for me on where to start finding some information on adoption.  There's so much to think about, and I truly know nothing except my husband and I want to give a child a life filled with love.  So...where is a good place to begin?

Thanks for reading my rambling.  I look forward to getting to know you better.

xo

Re: New...and nervous

• Options
    CheleChele member
    Hi and welcome. There's an FAQ link up at the top of this board, which may help you get started.
    10/27/07
  • Options

Bahahaha...see what I mean about being a newbie?  Thanks, Chele.  :)

• Loading the player...
  • Options