Birth Stories

Natural, medication-free hospital birth (pretty long)

I decided pretty late in my pregnancy that I wanted a drug-free birth for my first child. I was 7 months along, or so...I was so encouraged by many stories I found on the Internet (along with a few books) of other natural births. I just want to pass on my beautiful experience and hopefully be of some encouragement and comfort to others in my same previous, knowledge-hungry position!? Little background: I'm an ultrasound technician for a Perinatologist. I know a lot about pregnancy and knew little to nothing about delivery. For some reason (maybe because my own pregnancy was something of a surprise and I wasn't big into planning anything about it), I waited until my 3rd trimester to educate myself. By the time I had made a concise decision with my husband, John, about what we wanted out of our daughter's birth, I came to find that my OB (not my employer) was NOT really on board! Oops. Our last few visits were just plain weird. I wanted to inquire about natural, epidural-free, pitocin-free, induction-free stuff, and he starting passively deflecting my questions and throwing out quotes like "there aren't any medals for doing this without drugs" and "just let us do our job, we do this all the time." And by the way, there is a medal carved in your soul that no one can take from you when you deliver a baby- no matter how it's done!?At this point, I was down right panicked that I had chosen the complete wrong person for the job! (My 1st hint should probably have been month number four when I gained 5 lbs from the last month and he starting telling me that I was gaining too much too quickly and that he was alarmed, etc. I was not over-eating at all, was exercising regularly and ended up gaining only 20 lbs throughout the entire pregnancy. Wow. Maybe the problem was just that I was PREGNANT! Such a man :-) I must notate, though, that when it came down to it, he honored my wishes and let me do my thing and