TTC After a Loss

OPK Please help me understand

So I've never used OPK's before this cycle and I have never charted.  My cycles are VERY short - like 20 to 22 days generally.  Before my two miscarriages my cycles were pretty regular 24 to 25 days and I could pretty much tell every month when I ovulated, based on CM.  Now the cycles are shorter and my cm never changes. 

Anyway, this month I used OPK's from day 5 on.  There was never a darker line then the control line but it was darker on some days than other days.  What does that mean?  Do you take them everyday at the same time and really without anything to drink for a few hours? 

I'm starting to think I'm not ovulating now.  I know I should go to the dr, but it's only been 5 months since my second miscarriage.  Not sure where to turn next.  Looking for guidance on how accurate the OPKs are and proper use.

Married DH 5.19.01
Twin Boys 3.16.02
Beautiful Girl 2.21.04
Starting again 5.2011
M/C #1 6.10.11
M/C #2 10.17.11
BFP 3.12.12 !!!!!! DUE 11.22.12 April 10th - fateful ultrasound found pg was CSection Scar Pg. No heartbeat on April 23rd led to D and C, which led to life saving emergency hysterectomy May 7th 2012.

Re: OPK Please help me understand

• Hi there,

I'm in a similar boat as you. My cycle used to be close to 28 days, and since my m/c, it's averaging 22 days.  I'm giving it one more month, then calling the OB to see about a possible luteal phase defect.  I also thought i wasn't ovulating - i haven't seen fertile CM since my m/c.  I started using OPK's and found out that my best result comes when I use them twice a day - 6 AM and 6 PM.  Also, if you think you're not ovulating, i'd recommend temping in conjunction with OPK's.  Check out fertility friend online if you haven't already.  Most of the time i can catch a darker OPK, then see a temp shift a couple days later which is the sign of ovulation.  Let me know if you have any questions.  Good luck!