November 2011 Moms

Lets talk hemorrhoids (tmi)

Ever since DS was born I've had lots of pain pushing out BMs, and light blood when I wipe. I self-diagnosed myself with hemorrhoids after looking it up online. I remember from my birthing classes that people can get them from pushing too hard during labor, but I had a csection and never pushed. I do not have time to go to a Dr right now because I'm a CPA and its tax season. I have been taking fiber and a stool softener everyday and they don't seem to help. Anyone else know of anything non-prescription I can try?? Thanks!

Re: Lets talk hemorrhoids (tmi)

• From my understanding I think you just have to do what you can and let them heal on their own.  I am completely in the same boat as you, I did do some pushing during labor but ended up in c/s, but I've had self diagnosed hemorrhiods since DD came as well.  I've done stool softener and drinking lots of water and it seems to have helped.  Sorry I don't have anything better for you!  I'll be watching this post to see if anyone has a magic cure!
    BFP #1 August 2007, Lost Nov 2007, no heartbeat found at anatomy ultrasound at 19 wks
    BFP #2 March 2011, Baby Girl born November 2011!!!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • You may also have an anal fissure... That is caused from straining and will result in blood. Happened to my friend. Try drinking prune juice too

• Loading the player...
  • I had this problem and started taking Vit. C because I was sick about 8 weeks PP.  If you take too much Vit. C it will loosen your stools.  It really helped me.  I don't know if it will help you, but it is worth a try.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Daisypath Anniversary tickers BabyFruit Ticker
  • I called the Dr and they called in a Rx for a steroid cream. Hemmerhoids are common with pregnancy in general, so they knew by my symptoms that that's what I had. It felt a little weird, but it helped.

Also, eating a lot of activia helps.