Northern California Babies
Options

KotB

What's the biggest parenting challenge you've tackled thus far?

Re: KotB

• Options

I am still learning how to work while sleep deprived, but our biggest challenge has been learning to not worry about being judged for parenting decisions. My family is the worst when it comes to making me second guess things. Just the decision to breastfeed beyond six months made them give me crap about how they think it is gross to see a baby that old on the booob. Also, our decision to listen to the doctor and wait until six months to begin solids led to many discussions about how we were depriving DD, etc. Finding out we waited to start fruits led to more crap from them, but Rose loves her veggies so I am glad we waited. I have also had two strangers come up to me and tell that I was doing something *wrong* at the store. When did it become acceptable to play mommy martyr at the store when a child is clearly not in danger?

I guess I just don't understand why people are so worried about our feeding/parenting decisions! 

DD1: May 2011
    DD2: February 2014

• Options