Blended Families

Is being diagnosed bi-polar hereditary?

I'm sorry for the broad question, and how utterly dumb I am going to sound. I have ZERO knowledge about bi-polar disease/diagnosis. I'm curious though if a parent is diagnosed with it, if that is something to watch out for in a child.

Thanks.

Re: Is being diagnosed bi-polar hereditary?

• Yes,

And in some studies:  the child has an increased risk for autism, depression, and other mental/mood disorders.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Yes, but also...

one way they "diagnose" bi-polar is if you have a family history that includes bi-polar, so if you tell a doctor that you have a family history of bi-polar disorder, that increases your chance of a positive diagnosis.

• Loading the player...
  • My niece's BF was diagnosed with it during my sister's pregnancy and their separation. They've been divorced since she was just months old. She lives with my sister at my parents house and has a perfectly wonderful life. She didn't have visitation or much contact with the BF for the first year or so but that was because he didn't want any part of her life at that age. She is almost 5 now and has had regular EOW visitations for some time but lately her demeanor has been erratic. One minute she is mean as fire to my mom or my sister then the next her normal sweet self. I will do a lot more research but it so out of character for her and seems like the last 2 months after visitations it's gotten much worse. Not blaming the BF but it was just such dramatic change, it got me thinking.