Working Moms

Celebrating and thankful for "The Mommy Track"

Anyone else? I think the term should be looked at more favorably instead of having more of a negative connotation.

I enjoy the family friendly flexibility that I have in my current position. The "next step" up for me---in my opinion, is not family friendly. So, at this time in my life, I'll happily pass.

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

Image and video hosting by TinyPic image

Re: Celebrating and thankful for "The Mommy Track"

• Yes, I totally agree! I have a great job, flexible, family friendly, well-paid, etc.  But if I were single or not a mommy, I would be striving for the next step, promotion, challenge, etc.  I am content right where I am with no late nights, minimal travel, working from home, etc.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • couldn't agree more.  While I am pushing for a promotion now, it is only because I've been doing the dang job for the past two years!  But after that, I have made no secret that for the timebeing, my desire to be promoted further is about nil as I prefer to maintain the current work-life balance.  I know my boss wants me to move up further but just not where I want to be for now.  Few years may change that and he knows it but for now, provided I get my next-level promotion, we're all good.

DD -- 5YO
    DS -- 3YO

• Loading the player...
  • Total lurker (w/o any kids) here, but thank you for posting this.  I am always kind of taken aback when I hear talk about not having a mommy track, or eliminating the mommy track as being a good thing.  I get it that it's a problem if all women are forced into it, or if once you're in there's no way out.  But I'd hate to see it not be an option at all either. 

"A new baby is like the beginning of all things--wonder, hope, a dream of possibilities."

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker