Special Needs

Advice for A Nanny in a Tough Spot with A Special Needs Family

Hello! Veteran Nanny/babysitter here. I have over 15 years of experience dealing with children from birth and up.I have a full time job and am nannying as a part time position.

I recently began working part time for a family that has 2 girls ages 5/6 and a special needs son who is 14. When I was first hired for the job I was told that the responsibilities would require getting all 3 children dressed, fed and dropped off to various bus stops. It's blended family and 2 of the children have a different school and schedules for days with which parents. I was told that the special needs child was slightly disabled. That was a stretch for sure.

It's week 3 and we're having issues. Turns out that the special needs boy has fragile x syndrome and is constantly trying to hit and bite me. Trying to get all 3 kids into the car is a headache because i'm worried about the 5/6 year olds while I have to walk the boy to the car and buckle him in.

I told the parents on the first day that this was more than i could handle and I am not experienced with special needs children. The parents have hired a special needs assistant for the boy in the mornings for the 1 hour I have him in my care, but now are saying that the special needs child will be fine with me by next week. I do not think this is the case. I mentioned this to the aide- who shares my belief and concern for the other 2 children and that I cannot safely handle all 3 children., When I told the parents- they said it was not the special needs child but my not being able to handle the girls or discipline them. I can assure you that I know how to discipline children. But when we have 5 people in a small car with 2 little ones talking and singing and an agitated special needs child hitting and biting- it gets to be too much.