Military Families

Just found out DH will prob. miss birth of our first child

Hiya. Sorry this might be a tad long. I'm new to this. My husband has been working with a recruiter for 9 months now...he had surgery for a cyst and his recruitment was put on hold.

He's entering the Coast Guard and we were so confident that he'd be in basic by March because he reaches the cutoff age then and so on...Instead they granted him an age exemption and he starts basic May 8th....I'm due June 15th. He graduates basic July 3rd so there is no way I will go that late. 

The Dr. has said we could induce on a Friday night and try to get Dad a day pass, but there's no guarantee Dad will get leave. His recruiter explained that he will get two weeks paternity leave, but that cannot be taken until after graduation from basic.

I know this is the right thing for us and our family. DH has been working security 3 years trying to find a police job. Even with a degree in Criminal Justice he's had no luck. So this will get us into a better financial situation for the baby.

I know thousands of military moms go through this, but I'm scared. Also I can't even distract myself with setting up a nursery because we will be moving to God knows where after basic. 

So basically this is me throwing a pity party and looking for others who've been through this. 

Re: Just found out DH will prob. miss birth of our first child

• Military mom's are the strongest women I know, but it doesn't mean we dont' get stressed or throw a pity party from time to time. So don't feel bad for feeling stressed. Personally, I wouldn't induce unless it was medically needed because it isn't best for you or the baby. Your husband is setting up a great future for and your family. If you husband has to miss the birth I would try to set up a good support system with family and friends. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml