April 2012 Moms
Options

Just a vent! (re: facebook and teaching)

Sorry if this ends up very long!

First of all, I am a 3rd grade teacher so maybe this is just striking a nerve with me.  There is a friend of mine on FB that has been talking about how her son has been having trouble with bullying for probably the past month or so (a different school than I teach at).  It started off with an incident on the playground, parents went to the administration to talk about it and go from there.  I guess it continued and so her FB rants got more heated and out of hand (IMO).  As of today she is homeschooling her son.

I totally agree that a child should feel safe at school and that schools (admin, teachers, staff, ect) should be aware and have procedures set in place for these kinds of things, but her view point is really rubbing me the wrong way.  She is basically saying that the school was doing nothing for her son and that he will learn so much more at home with her anyway.  Maybe the thing that gets me the most is the amount of parents that are commenting and agreeing that schools are "horrible", teachers do "nothing", and their children would all learn so much more at home with their parents if only they could all homeschool.  It just offends me as a teacher that so many people feel that way in this very small area I live in.

Ok, just had to get out that out there so I could hopefully move past it.  I would love to comment on FB, but that just isn't how I work.  I use FB to keep in contact with friends and family and remain as professional as I can while on there.  I am not about to open that can of worms.  :S

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Just a vent! (re: facebook and teaching)

• Options