Special Needs

Holiday gifts for therapists?

There was just a big thread on PC&E about teacher gifts being considered inappropriate bribes. But I did contribute to the pool for a class gift to the teachers. So...do I give something to his public school therapists? I suck at crafts and baking. I show love through Starbucks gift cards. Thanks!
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Holiday gifts for therapists?

• I'm a therapist, and we're really not supposed to take gifts.  Some families do give though.  I really enjoy the personal gifts like thank you notes, pictures of the kids, something they made.  Hand sanitizer is great this time of year ;)
  • My mom makes pretty bead bracelets, and I gave one to each of DD1's teachers and therapists, with a detailed thank-you note for each of them. 

It wasn't a whole lot, but they all seemed to really appreciate it. :) 

DD1, 1/5/2008 ~~~ DD2, 3/17/2010
  • Loading the player...
  • I base it on my relationship with the therapist.  The therapist that I run into around town and we've had drinks with her and her husband, I baked for and bought her a pretty decent gift card.  The one that I only see professionally I had DS make a card for and gave a small Target gift card.  None of my therapists have ever told me they couldn't accept gifts, but maybe if I bought something really expensive they would have to decline. 
  • This is my first year buying gifts for therapists and I got all 3 gift cards to Starbucks....
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • I haven't bought anything for our therapists, last year or this year.

Last year we only had one therapy session 1x/months, combined PT/OT.  Also, I had knee surgery in december so we took the month off.

This year he only sees OT and ST 1x/month and we saw them this week so I feel weird giving a gift that early.  Also, we've only had 3 sessions with the SLP and our OT we don't even see every month.