1st Trimester
Options

I work in healthcare, what precautions should I take?

I'm a certified medical assistant and work in a family practice. I know the obvious ones like wearing a mask around patients with possible flu or upper respiratory infections and staying away from people with chicken pox but are there others I should be aware of? Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated :)
Lilypie Pregnancy tickers

Re: I work in healthcare, what precautions should I take?

• Options
    i think your supposed 2 stay away from certian cancer meds..a woman i used 2 work with her husband had 2 store his meds at a relatives house while she was prego and stay away for few days after his teatments.your dr may have a list or pamplet
    image baby Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options

You should get the added protection of a flu shot (I am assuming you already have excellent hand washing hygiene ;) ). And, yes, unless you are already contraindicated for it like being allergic to chickens, you can and should have the flu shot in any of the trimesters (better to get it sooner). You should also look into bacterial pneumonia (not sure if you can get this while pregnant) and pertussis vaccines.   

Good luck!  

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    That's good to know because my mom has ovarian cancer right now but for the time being is finished with treatment. Thank you!
  • Options
    Good luck to your mom! 
  • Options

Thank you!

• Options

Stay away from any patient with shingles.That is really important.

You should get the flu shot, always use universal precautions. I don't wear a mask for most patients illnesses but if they have the flu, then by all means protect yourself. 

I am a nursing student and I don't take any patients that are on precautions (MRSA, VRE, etc). Its not completely necessary but they don't make me. 

Daisypath Happy Birthday tickers
  • Options
    Stay out of the x-ray room. :)