Houston Babies

FYI: No more elective deliveries < 39 weeks.

Some of you may have seen me post in the past that I am a Labor and Delivery nurse. Just wanted to pass along this info as it is now being enforced (at least at the hospital I deliver in).

As of Oct 1, due to changes in Medicaid (and therefore all other insurance companies as well), you cannot be electively induced or be given a repeat cesarean (also considered an elective procedure) any earlier than 39 weeks--unless a medical condition exists that gives cause to deliver before 39. Only medical reasons (pregnancy induced hypertension, complicated twin gestations, gestational diabetes, etc.) will be a reason to do either any earlier than 39 weeks. 

Just wanted to let you all know so there would be no surprises when you tell your doctor at 38 weeks that you're "Done!" :) and they tell you you have to wait another week.

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: FYI: No more elective deliveries < 39 weeks.

• imagejunebride611:

Some of you may have seen me post in the past that I am a Labor and Delivery nurse. Just wanted to pass along this info as it is now being enforced (at least at the hospital I deliver in).

As of Oct 1, due to changes in Medicaid (and therefore all other insurance companies as well), you cannot be electively induced or be given a repeat cesarean (also considered an elective procedure) any earlier than 39 weeks--unless a medical condition exists that gives cause to deliver before 39. Only medical reasons (pregnancy induced hypertension, complicated twin gestations, gestational diabetes, etc.) will be a reason to do either any earlier than 39 weeks. 

Just wanted to let you all know so there would be no surprises when you tell your doctor at 38 weeks that you're "Done!" :) and they tell you you have to wait another week.

It's basically everywhere because of the laws in Texas.

Three losses in 2009; Boy/Girl twins born in 2010 image