Northern California Babies

Cloth Diaper Mommas...please come in!

Long Time No Chat Ladies,

Is it too late to switch to cloth diapers? Collin is 19 months old and seems to be getting bleeding diaper rash every other week. Right now it is an oozing bloody plasma mess. I have been using anti fungal cream as well as hydrocortisone cream. Tried original Desitin and petrolium jelly. It always eventually clears itself up..but it seems to hurt so bad when the disposable diaper rubs along it or on his thighs leading to more irritated areas.

Help!

TIA

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Cloth Diaper Mommas...please come in!

• Oh no!  I have a HS friend who just switched for the same reason, and her little girl is 18 months old so I definitely think it's possible and it might help a lot.  I believe she uses prefolds and covers exclusively.  I'm brand new to the CDing world (just ordered our beyond-NB stash yesterday in fact) so I'm not a lot of help, but hopefully some of the other CDing ladies can help you.  The CD board is also very helpful...their FAQ's are awesome.  GL!
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickersLilypie First Birthday tickers
  • use raw coconut oil.  If it's fungus, petroleum jelly will just give it a nice warm, moist insulator under which to grow.

Does he have sensitivity to latex?  Several disposables have latex in them.

Lastly, it's not too late to switch to cloth :)

• Loading the player...
  • Thanks Steph, Celyn...I dont think or rather now if he has a latex sensitivity. I will stay away from the jelly...where can I find raw coconut oil? Trader Joes? Elliots? Also...I know NOTHING about CD....is there a guide for dummies? I dont even know where to buy any supplies. How many do I get? How do I know what size or even do they come in sizes? How do I use them? Is it really cheaper to CD than use DD's? I feel so dumb not knowing about this.