Special Needs

Looking for input from ASD moms please

There is an 8 yr old boy who lives down the street from us who has ASD. I'd describe him as relatively high functioning socially, but academically he struggles. For example, he greets us and speaks readily to adults and children, and tells elaborate stories about how he's planning a trip to Ireland or France, but his grammar structure is immature and learning to read and do math are difficult for him.  We see him daily at the bus stop.  His mom is very nice but very different from what my prior experience with ASD moms has been (when I was a teacher.)  My experience has always been moms who want their children included as much as possible in the classroom with NT kids.  This mom has an expendive hired advocate, calls IEP meetings regularly and is never satisfied with what his teachers are doing, she wants him pulled into a self-contained classroom pretty much all day, and has him ride a separate special ed bus to school each day.  Obviously, I don't know him all that well and maybe some of this is what he needs, but it doesn't match what I see of him at the bus stop each day.  Anyway, this is all background to my question.