1st Trimester

Nursing assistant and pregnant

I am a nurse's aide and the job requires a lot of lifting, pushing, heaving, pulling, etc. I just found out recently that I'm pregnant (almost six weeks!) and am worried to death about hurting the baby. I've already told my boss about the pregnancy.

How much lifting is too much?
When do I need to start worrying about lifting and other heavy duty things at work (because I've already started worrying)?

I'm a full time student as well as worker, so going down to part time / light duty really isn't an option, unless absolutely necessary due to complications or what-have-you.

Any advice would be appreciated and welcomed! I'm a first time mommy and very nervous and overwhelmed (though becoming increasingly excited). 

Re: Nursing assistant and pregnant

• My doctor told me not to lift more than 20 pounds at a time. 
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Hey!

I'm an RN and lift, pull, push, squat, run, skip...etc.. and my doctor had no restrictions to offer.

Your body is used to what you're doing, physically for the most part so you really shouldn't have to change - I mean, unless your doctor wants you to.

What type of nursing do you work in?

• Loading the player...
  • I used to be a Nurse's assistant. I hurt my back, so I was unable to continue. Anyway - my plan was to work until about 5-6 months, and figured after that I wouldn't want to push myself. I also know a friend of mine who worked all the way to her delivery. It goes along with "if you were doing it before you were pregnant, you are probably fine". You get good muscle strength and tone when you do lifting all the time, so you should have the support you need in your body to continue working. I would ask your doctor though. BTW - I LOVED being a nurse's asst. I miss it so much! Take care of your back, ok?
    A - 4/27/12     D - 7/14/14