Cloth Diapering
Options

New to CD

Due to some budget issues i have decided to switch to cloth diapers.  My LO is 8 months old but i plan to have several more children.  On the advice from a friend, i purchased a flips day pack (2 covers, 6 inserts, $40).  I know this isn't enough but i'm trying to be budget conscious.  Our cotton babies store had a econobum starter pack for $50 (3 covers, 12 inserts, and a wet bag).  Would this be a good choice? I know that econobums aren't as nice but i thought it would be a good way to build a bigger supply of CDs. 

What do you guys recommend? How many covers and inserts/prefolds do i need?  Are prefolds a lot harder to use than the flips inserts?

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: New to CD

• Options
    I am due in Feb so I have no real experience using CDs. From the research that I have done I have decided to use all-in-ones and pocket diapers, for me I think the (perceived) ease of changing the baby will work best for us and anyone who volunteers to babysit. I also like the descriptions of how to clean them, no soaking... I have read that it is good to try a couple of different brands and styles so I am stocking up on a small variety and will use CD's and disposables at first and then transition when I find what works best for me. Seeing as how you already have a baby I would just start phasing them in and buy a couple more kinds I say a 3 or 4 pack of Bum Genius on Amazon for about $50 today. BTW I have a BG and a Grovia and just ordered an OhKaty so I could play with them before buying a lot of them.
  • Options

My guy is just about 5 months old. We usually use about 6-8 diapers during the day, and then 1 overnight. I try to hang things to dry and wash every second day, so I need about 3 days worth of diapers (~24).