Cloth Diapering
Options

Making Laundry Room CD-friendly?

(newbie alert)

I'm almost 12 weeks with twins, so I have lots of time to obsess over what my CD stash will be.

HOWEVER, we do intend to CD, and we're giving our laundry room a makeover next month, and I'm in the planning stages of what it needs, what we're missing, etc.

Can you tell me what makes your LR great for CD purposes, or not... like, do I need a spot to line dry things? (we live in the midwest) Do most store dirty diapers in some type of nasty plastic bucket, like my mom did 30 yrs ago with my brother? Give me the scoop on what the remod needs to include to make this whole CD thing less scary for all involved.

Thanks! 

(FWIW, I think we'll head the AIO/folded stuffed thing route, but I'm still learning about all our choices)

Join us - Commit Random Acts of Kindness, and say "I did it for Cricket" Cricket's Cadence

Re: Making Laundry Room CD-friendly?

• Options
    Honestly, we didn't change anything about our laundry room, except add a new kind of detergent to the shelf, lol.  I store the dirties in a hanging wet-bag on our bedroom door (it's zipped up, so you can't smell anything).  I do have a clothes-drying rack, but usually I just dry everything together on low heat.  Hanging it up will make things last longer, though. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options

I can't think of much that you'd NEED to do to make your laundry room CD-friendly.  And it really isn't scary at all, trust me!  Some people use a wet pail but most people (including me) use a dry pail.  Wet pails are generally discouraged now as they're a safety hazard. Depending on your floorplan, you could keep your pail in the laundry room. People seem to keep them in different places. We keep DS's in his room and it hasn't been smelly or problematic yet.

If I were designing a new laundry room, these are the things I'd want, though (for CD and non-CD purposes):