Preemies
Options

Baby born @ 27 week question

We have the opportunity to be possibly choosen to be adoptive parents to a baby born at 27 weeks.  The baby was under 2lbs.  The agency is not aware of much information other than the baby is doing well for the age and is not on a respirator.  I wish we had more information.  We have to make a decision in a few hours if we want to have our book shown or not.  Any one have any comments on 27 week old babies?  I have no experience with premies or NICU so this is all new and such a hard decision not knowing what you are walking into I guess. 

Re: Baby born @ 27 week question

• Options

That's tough.

Honestly it just varies.  My son was born at 26w2d.  He spent 17 weeks in the NICU.  He faced some dififculties like a collapsed lung and bleeding in his brain.  He is 2 1/2 years old now.  As an infant he was pretty much "normal" except that he had severe reflux and a swallowing disorder.  We also could not take him anywhere for the first year for fear of him getting sick, weakened immune system, and unable to handle worldly germs.  At age 1 things started to seem less normal.  By 18 months he was delayed in all areas and started more therapy.  He still gets therapy 4 times a week for global delays in PT, OT, ST, eating.  He still is treated for reflux.  The doctor is evaluating him for possible mild CP and possibly a mild social disorder (ASD).  

That said - look at my blog.  I think most people think my son seems pretty normal.  He's so happy.  He's really fun.  He's adorable.  He is smart. He can count to 20 and knows all of his letters and colors. The things above have been challenging for us, but, overall he is doing very well and every issue he has had is treatable with therapy and is not progressive (it won't get worse over time). Most of the reason Andrew has issues, i think, Is because of his brain bleeding at birth.