Babies: 3 - 6 Months

4 month old: Tips to drop night feeding

Hi all,

DD sleeps generally 6-7 hours (although she's done 8-9 hours), and then goes back to sleep for another hour or two..I'd really like to get rid of that middle of the night feeding.  She usually goes to sleep around 8:30 and wakes "up" at around 3:30, and then sometimes again at 5:30; 6. 

I bought the book "Sleep easy solution" but not sure if I should start it or not. Also, I'm going back to work in September (I'm a teacher), so I'd LOVE to get this started before going back to work. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: 4 month old: Tips to drop night feeding

• Does she eat during that feeding?

If LO is waking up out of habit, that's one thing. But if she's eating, she's hungry, and she probably just needs that feeding still.

At least, IMO.

• imageScout05:

Does she eat during that feeding?

If LO is waking up out of habit, that's one thing. But if she's eating, she's hungry, and she probably just needs that feeding still.

At least, IMO. 

It could be her LO is conditioned to want that motn feeding. If I got up at midnight for 2 weeks and had a sandwich, I'd be hungry at midnight every night. But, OP, your 4mo old can only go an average 6 hours between feedings at night. Some STTN without waking but a lot don't; mine certainly doesn't! 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Photobucket
  • Loading the player...
  • imageScout05:

At least, IMO. 

It could be her LO is conditioned to want that motn feeding. If I got up at midnight for 2 weeks and ha a sandwich, I'd be hungry at midnight every night. But, OP, your 4mo old can only go an average 6 hours between feedings at night. Some STTN without waking but a lot don't; mine certainly doesn't! 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Photobucket
  • imageScout05:

At least, IMO.