Babies: 0 - 3 Months

4 weeks old-rice cereal??

DS is 4 weeks old, we have been doing great with the breastfeeding. He is still waking up every 2-3hrs at night to feed. Is it too early to put a little rice cereal in his night time bottle to keep him fuller longer and sleep longer?? Thanks!!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: 4 weeks old-rice cereal??

• I'm by no means an expert but I would never give my 4 week old rice cereal just to get him to sleep longer.  BM is all he needs right now.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Too early! WAYYYYYYYYYY too early. Don't do it unless your pedi recommends it!

And if your pedi recommends it JUST so he sleeps longer, I'd get a second opinion.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    imageimage
    imageimage
  • Loading the player...
  • imagegymnst1013:
    I'm by no means an expert but I would never give my 4 week old rice cereal just to get him to sleep longer.  BM is all he needs right now.

i agree  - i wouldn't give DS cereal just yet. a friends Dr told her that once baby gets to approx 12lbs they don't really need as many feeds in the middle of the night.  i'm just now starting to not feed him when he wakes up at midnight - i just reswaddle and soother him and he just falls back to sleep.

sometimes they don't wake up from hunger, just habit so i'd just stick it out!

unfortunately babies wake lots at night! i would just wait it out a bit longer...my DS just started sleeping longer at night at he just turned 9 weeks

• Unless for a medical reason, it is not okay to put rice cereal in a bottle.  It is a choking hazard.

eta:  It will not make your LO sleep longer.    

• I think the rice cereal at night to get a baby to sleep thing is something our grandmothers' generation did. Unless your baby is having weight gain issues, he should be only taking breastmilk (or formula) until 4-6 months.