1st Trimester
Options

Newbie here wondering if it's bad to start a new business...

Hi, ladies,

I just found out I was pregnant yesterday (yay!/shock-- planned but still), and I'm also in the middle of buying a little coffee shop business that I want to make a bakery and coffee shop.

Is that a bad idea or no big deal?  The current owner is a really nice lady who, when I said I just found out I was pregnant, said, "Oh, you don't want to take this on while you're pregnant, do you?"

Sorry if this seems like a stupid question.  It hadn't occurred to me that it would be an issue, but what do you all think?

Thanks in advance! :-)

Re: Newbie here wondering if it's bad to start a new business...

• Options
    My opinion is that it really is going to depend on how you handle your pregnancy. A new business can be a lot of work and a source for a lot of stress. A what happens if you are put on bed rest or have someother reason that might keep you from being able to go, go, go, do you have people you can trust to take over for you until your feeling better? Just some things to think about.
    photo a436e47a-1fc7-4b2c-aee9-dc94f8169c1f_zpsbbb152f9.jpg photo 301d07a6-bea2-41ae-8e5b-30e66a49659d_zps6d6599b3.jpg photo 80f355e8-ba3f-48d5-aeb4-f6f4c1c72f6e_zps8e4fac15.jpg BabyFruit Ticker Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickersLilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Options

I think it really depends on how you are feeling and handling your pregnancy, and how turn-key this business will be. How much physical work are you going to have to put into this to get it up and running? Do you think you can handle it through your pregnancy? Do you have a backup, a partner, or employees that will be able to cover for you and help if you have complications and have to go on bedrest? What do you plan on doing once the baby arrives regarding a maternity leave, and possible child care? And most importantly, do you have a business plan?