March 2011 Moms

Speaking of going back to work...

I go back next week full time, and could use some encouraging stories!  Those of you who have gone back, how did it go and was it easier than you thought?  I'm especially worried because I EBF and even though DS seems to take bottles ok, I am worried about having to pump and him needing to take bottles all day long...Please tell me your story and at least make it sound like everything went smooth!  LOL  =)

Re: Speaking of going back to work...

• This is my 3rd week back at work. It hasn't been that bad for me but that's partly because 1) I'm a teacher and there are only a few weeks left until summer vacation, and 2) my parents and DH's parents are all taking turns watching DS until school gets out for summer, so we won't need to put DS in day care until school starts back up in the fall.

I was worried about pumping at work too, but it's been fine. I've been able to pump pretty much exactly as much as DS needs each day... sometimes more. He's taking the bottles fine even though he prefers the boob.

GL! For me the first day was hardest. It does get easier!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • It was not as bad as I built it up to be!!  I cried the whole week prior to going back to work, but it really wasn't as bad as I thought.  It's still not what I want to do, but we're hanging in there.  Here's a tip:  sleep with the blanket you will send with your baby to daycare/babysitter.  It will smell like you and bring comfort to you LO.  I did this and they said he really liked when they held the blanket close to his face (not when he's sleeping, of course.)  Good Luck, you'll get through it!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • mrsgailmrsgail member