Infertility Veterans

need PIO/IM shot advice

AF showed up this morning so I go in Friday for CD4 monitoring for my FET.  If I get the go ahead I will have to take my first prometrium (i think that is the name) shot Friday night.  This is my first time doing IM shots.  Some how I have avoided doing these after a year of cycles. 

So I feel like a total newbie and I know it has been asked so many times before, but can you ladies give me your best PIO/IM shot tips?  DH won't be doing the shots so I need advice for self admin the shots.  TIA!

And I hope everyone had a great holiday weekend.  I just got back from my trip yesterday and I had a great time.  I got to relax and drink wine all weekend.  it was exactly what I needed before starting up again.  Now back to the crazy. 

~Lauren~
**SAIF always welcome.**
After 2+ years, 3 losses, 3 surgeries, 2 IVFs and 1 FET our little girl is here.
Lilypie First Birthday tickers
my read shelf:
Lauren (babystinkbreath)'s book recommendations, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)
Read in 2011: 56/55
Read in 2012: 31/30
Read in 2013: 1/25
Follow Me on Pinterest

Re: need PIO/IM shot advice

• I did my own PIO injection the other night.  The anticipation beforehand was about an 11 but the pain was about 1.  It wasn't a big deal at all and all the worry was for nothing.  

You Tube has some great vidoes that give directions. 

My advice would be to gently press the needle in.  Don't stab it in--it will slide in slowly and it won't hurt at all.  I use 25guage needles for PIO.  It takes a bit longer to get the meds out but it's worth it since you're not using a dagger.  :)

TTC Since 10/08 4 IUIs=BFNx4
    IVF#1=BFP!! Twins!!
    Bradley and Billy born and lost on 2/2/11 at 19w2d due to pPROM/PTL. I miss you, little angels.
    IVF#2=BFN