September 2011 Moms
Options

anyone applying for new jobs whilst pregnant?

Hi!  I'm more of a lurker but would love advice/thoughts!

I am a currently a school librarian and just found out that my own high school is hiring for next fall, great timing huh?  I have a meeting with the asst. principal next week and I am wondering how open to be about my due date and the fact that even if they wanted me, there is no way I could start with them for the first month or so of school.  

Is anyone else applying for jobs now?  If so, how are you avoiding/facing the pregnant belly in the room during an interview?  I understand that legally, being pregnant isn't supposed to make a difference but obviously, it is going to be a consideration whether I like it or now.  Thoughts?

William Henry born August 26, 2011, 7lbs 9oz 20 inches Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: anyone applying for new jobs whilst pregnant?

• Options

Ive been unemployed for several months now and have been looking for jobs too.  Even though I know at this point, being due in Sept. that I would probably not be hired, however, I feel I should still be looking.  It would be great to find something now, that I would know I could start in late November.

IYoure right they technically cant discriminate, however, Im sure at this point you cant hide that you are pregnant.  I think since you are this far along, its better to be honest.

Good Luck!

• Options

bump

I am a teacher right now and have an interview for a assistant principal position tomorrow morning at 9am.  I have been thinking about this for a couple days and am trying to figure out if I should even address my pregnancy, particularly since I will have to take at least six weeks of at the end of September when the baby is born. I don't know if I should mention it or not!

Hope you get some responses!!! My thoughts and prayers will be with you next week!

BabyFetus Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options