School-Aged Children

Late birthday, late kindergarten start date... thoughts?

My DD doesn't turn 5 until November, so that means she'll get one more year as a preschooler. I'm just curious about any experiences out their with their LOs being a little older than their classmates, how they adjusted, etc. From what I read, these kids actually do better in kindergarten, but I just feel terrible that she has to stay out another year. Thanks!
Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
Married since 06/19/2004|Anna born 11/19/2006|Charles born 11/1/11
Double undergrad graduation May 2011| Me: Psychology, DH: Communication| A long journey!
<a href="http://s21.photobucket.com/albums/b268/gussiebutt/?action=view

Re: Late birthday, late kindergarten start date... thoughts?

• I don't have experience with my own child, but I am a teacher and I can honestly say that the kids I have taught who were younger than their classmates b/c they did not wait for that later start could not keep up with their classmates in my fourth grade class. They were much more immature and were not able to master the basics at the pace of their peers.

I know that not all kids who enter K a bit young will struggle, but I've seen it many times. I think waiting due to your LO's late bday is a good idea. GL!

3/2009 ~ chemical pregnancy 7/2009 ~ BFP! Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I think it's all relative.  Even in my state where the cut off is 12/1, a child born in Nov might not be the oldest in the class.  If your cut off is earlier, there's a good chance that there may be kids almost 6 mos older than her in her class.  So, not much different if you had a later cut off (DS has an Aug bday with a 12/1 cut off, I sent him on time and the oldest child is 10 mos older, most are about 3-8 mos older and a few are younger).
    DS1 age 7, DD age 5 and DS2 born 4/3/12
  • Loading the player...