Military Families

So if you're AD, are there any birth options?

This is a question I'm going to ask at my first appointment too, but I'm new to this and I was hoping you ladies could help me get some idea... I'm active duty, so I don't have the Tricare standard option to pick my own OB etc and just have a co-pay (which sounds awesome, btw!).

I'm hoping I'll just love the MTF and it won't be an issue, but if I'm not happy with the care I get, do I have any options (well, besides paying for everything out of my own pocket)?

Re: So if you're AD, are there any birth options?

• Unfortunately, usually no.  And even paying out of pocket is not allowed.  I don't know where you'll be delivering, but I had a great MTF experience with my first.  Good Luck!
  • It really depends on where you are.  There are no OBs here at our base.  Everyone is refered to an off post doctor and delivers at a local hospital.  Those soldiers can ask for a specific doc as long as they are in network.  At the base 30 minutes away, soldiers use the doctors on post and the base hospital. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Yes. You always have options. It may be hard as hell to get Tricare to agree to things, but it is possible.

I didn't like my doc, so I changed clinics and requested a midwife. I didn't like the original one, so I asked around and started booking with the one that was recommended. I didn't want to get pushed around during labor so I hired a doula to help be an advocate for me. I was not able to keep my midwife because I had to be induced at 35 weeks, but I discussed induction options with the OB doc. He agreed to my choice of induction drugs.