Detroit Babies

Gas

Dayne seems to have a funny latch with the bottle (we've moved over to 100% formula so no BF anymore) and when he sucks you can HEAR the air he's swallowing.  Which leads to painful screams with gas issues.  We have the Avent bottles - sooooo many people told us to use Dr. Brown so we bought two bottles this past weekend to try out and you can still hear all the air he's taking in. 

I have also heard that those drop ins can help too but some moms say they make the problem worse.  I have given him Mylicon a few times but I don't want that to be my go to for his gas issues, I'd rather fix the problem.  Any suggestions?

Daisypath Anniversary tickers
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Gas

• Sounds like the issue is his 'latch' more than the bottles if he's still taking in air with the Dr Browns. I'm not an engineer, but I am pretty sure that it's next to impossible to take in air from those bottles. Maybe try a bottle with a larger nipple like the tommee tippee's to see if that makes any difference? 

As far as the gas drops are concerned, I wouldn't worry about giving them as needed. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I use Dr. Brown's bottles and specifically got them because of Gabe's gas/colic issues.  There is no way to suck in air due to the way they are designed and engineered.  I'm totally not trying to tell you you are wrong, but are you absolutely sure it's air coming into his mouth from the bottle nipple or is it air coming in because of his latch on the bottle (i.e. sucking in air from the atmosphere)?  Have you tried stopping in the middle of a feeding to burp him frequently?  I'm just trying to run though everything we tried to help Gabe's gas issues early on.  We also loved Colic Calm and Gripe Water to help with gas and colic.
    Gabriel Joseph 6/13/2010
    BFP#2: 8/14/11 M/C 8/30/11 6w1d
    BFP #3: 10/26/11
    Beta #1 @11dpo: 22 Beta #2 @13dpo: 90 Beta #3 @17dpo: 480