Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months

Any IH-DCPs.Q for you.

I noticed that several people here have in-home daycares, so I thought this would be a good place to ask. 

I am going to be quitting my FT job soon (late may), working side jobs (I'm an architect) and providing morning only daycare for 3 kids in my house.

I want to make sure I have all my bases covered.

-In NC I don't have to be licensed by the state for half-day care.

-I will have the parents sign a contract including termination notification, liability waiver, agreements as to meds, sleeping, activities, etc. (Care to share yours?)

The only thing I have not checked into is my home owners insurance policy. Do you have a rider? A separate policy? Nothing? 

Anything else I'm missing? 

TIA!  

Re: Any IH-DCPs.Q for you.

• Not sure about your state's licensing laws, but I believe most don't require a license if you have under a certain amount of children. That number probably includes your own children too.

As far as insurance, I have a rider on our home-owner's policy.  Our agent said it's a must in case something would happen while children are in your care.  He also said we must have a first-aid kit, a fire extinguisher, and working smoke detectors in every sleeping room, hallway, and on every floor. Since I am licensed that is checked by the fire marshal.

In your contract, state your holidays and days off. Some examples from mine:

Major holidays I will be closed and paid.

Holidays such as Christmas Eve and the day after Thanksgiving I am not closed. If I am open but the children will not be coming, I will be paid.

I do 10 free days a year for a full-timer. They can use those on any day, whether it be for a sick day, snow day, or personal day/vacation.