Babies: 6 - 9 Months
Options

Follow up MRI to CT Scan

I posted a few days ago about my son's pediatrician recommending a CT scan because his head measurements were getting larger and larger each visit.  We had the CT scan this morning and the doctor called us this afternoon and said that the CT showed that his left ventricles of the brain may be enlarged, but that the CT scan could not show what exactly, if anything, was causing it, or if he just naturally had larger than average ventricles of his brain, so we have to go next Monday for a follow-up MRI to get more detail.  I wanted to know if anyone had gone through a similar situation before and if so, what their experience was.  Our doctor did give us some information, but said they would not know anything for sure until after the MRI, so I just wanted to see if anyone had any positive results.  Thanks in advance. 
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker

Re: Follow up MRI to CT Scan

• Options
    I have no experience with this, but wanted to say that I hope everything turns out well. I know how worried you must be. Hang in there and please keep us updated. {{hugs}}
    AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Options
    No experience here either, I just wanted to say GL and I hope everything turns out ok. I remember your previous post. I was wondering about you and your LO.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

I'm sorry to hear you didn't get the "all clear" today.  I replied to your original post b/c our LO had a CT scan for a large head too and I was hoping yours went as well as ours.

No experience with a follow-up MRI, but remember that drs are always overly cautious with LOs so hopefully everything will turn out just fine.

• Options