Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months
Options

Diaper Rash Relief?

My LO has some pretty bad diaper rash going on. He doesn't want to sit down, screams when I go to change him, doesn't really want to eat or play and isn't himself.  Tried a lukewarm bath, let him walk around without the diaper and am using lots of A&D.  Waiting for a call back from the nurse to see if they have any other suggestions to make him a little more comfortable.  Thought I would ask around to see if anyone here has any suggestions?  TIA

*** William Abner 8/25/2008 24w3d *** Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Diaper Rash Relief?

• Options

I found that Desitin worked better than A&D ointment. But then again I'm no expert since we only had 1 rash ever.  I will say that I use Desitin on his bum at every single diaper change and I really think that is what kept daiper rashes away.

Also I was thinking -- if it is really that painful - maybe it's a yeast infection - that would suck.  Call the pedi to make sure it's nothing more than a standard daiper rash. 

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Options
    For us, All natural Bourdreauxs Butt Paste works better than any other cream.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    imageNiniJ55:

I found that Desitin worked better than A&D ointment. But then again I'm no expert since we only had 1 rash ever.  I will say that I use Desitin on his bum at every single diaper change and I really think that is what kept daiper rashes away.

Also I was thinking -- if it is really that painful - maybe it's a yeast infection - that would suck.  Call the pedi to make sure it's nothing more than a standard daiper rash. 

Thanks for the suggestions. Jealous that you have only had 1 rash!