Single Parents

Question about custody related stuff

Hi all,

I'm new to being an SP.  I moved my kids and I out of our home about ten days ago when I discovered my H had been unfaithful to me, over the course of several years with several different women.  What a peach, huh?

I have not filed for divorce yet, but plan to after the holidays.  I'm planning to go away for New Years to visit some family out of state.  Can I legally take my children out of the state at this point?  I should add that H has seen the kids exactly twice since we left.  He does not have a driver's license due to a DUI so he is unable to transport them and I told him I was unwilling to be the go between all the time.  I 've taken so much emotional abuse over the years and I feel like he needs to take responsibility for seeing his children.  I've told him he is welcome to come visit them here (we are staying with my parents for the time being).  We are communicating minimally, and mostly via text message.  The odds are that he would never even know that we left  (only going for three nights) since he has had so little involvement/communication with us.  My fear in telling him is that he will find some way to legally not allow me to take them just to be a d!ck.  Thoughts?

Re: Question about custody related stuff

• You are a legal gaurdian just as much as your STBXH is; therefore, you can take them out of state, you can move them out of state, you can take them out of the country(wouldn't advise) and until a judge makes you come back for a hearing you have done nothing wrong.  The police won't even touch it.

The reverse is true.  He can do all those things too as long as there no custody order in place you each have 50% legal and physical custody.

I like to tell every new single parent:

Possession is 9/10 of the law and that applies to children.  If you have them they are "more" yours.

ALSO

Don't be nice.  Nice gets you screwed.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic