Babies: 3 - 6 Months
Options

expectations of daycare center

For you working moms...how have you handled encouraging your daycare provider(s) to do things like tummy time and social interaction (songs, talking to LO, etc.). I'm new to this and we're in our second day of a daycare center. My husband visited LO twice yesterday and I gave him his bottle while picking him up...and during the half-hour I was there, I so almost zero social interaction among the providers and the babies there. My husband had similar concerns. We're both child psychologists who often work with teachers and caregivers re: how to interact with their children (when such advice is solicited), so we may be letting our knowledge and expectations get the best of us, but it is really hard.

I certainly understand divided attention and their need to meet the basic needs of all the children there (it is tough to socially interact with children when you are changing a diaper or feeding another child), but I observed a daycare provider sitting on the floor kind of staring into space for about a half hour...none of the kids were crying or demanding attention, but everyone was just kind of sitting there. It broke my heart. I know I'm not paying for a nanny to give my child such individual attention - I get that - I really do. But, I'm just concerned re: the interest of the workers there...and I'm not sure how to get around it.

Re: expectations of daycare center

• Options