Babies: 3 - 6 Months

Q from 0-3: Sleeping in Swing...

So...our DS has been sleeping in his swing since he was brought home from the hospital. My guess was that the expanse in the crib unnerved him and he's always been cozier in his swing, which is no biggie for us.

However, I do know that the day will come that he will no longer fit in his swing to sleep, so I'm a bit torn at what to do now. Should we transition him to the crib now just to get it over with, or just let him sleep in his swing as long as he's happy and comfy, and deal with the crib when he longer fits in the swing. Basically, follow the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" mentality...

For those of you ladies whose LO's slept in their swings, when did you transition them? And if you did it a bit later, how did the transition go? Easy? Difficult??

Thanks!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Q from 0-3: Sleeping in Swing...

• I have no experience since I'm still pregnant with my first, but I'm getting a moses basket for my LO. I've heard it's easier to transition them to the crib because you can put the whole moses basket inside for a while before putting them in "by themselves". Does the baby carrier work as well as the swing? Could you place the whole carrier in the crib to transition?  Again, I'm no expert so I'm hoping to see what the responses are from experienced mommies!
  • I agree with the RNP idea.

You could always try the crib, and see what happens, ya know? 

I was shocked when I laid DD down in her crib and she didn't fuss. She had slept in her newborn napper since birth, so I expected her to have a hard time, and she didn't at all.

You never know!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic BabyName Ticker Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • imageKRISTA555:

I agree with the RNP idea.

You could always try the crib, and see what happens, ya know?