TTC after 35

IUI's and 3-5 cycles

Anyone know why they say expect it to take 3-5 cycles for successful IUI? I am going to ask and did google it but got little. i will see what DR says. Anyone ask before?

Kristin

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: IUI's and 3-5 cycles

• Just the idea that the success rate is a range based on a number of factors like maternal age and such, but somewhere between 15-20%.  This is a helpful link:

https://www.fertilityplus.org/faq/iui.html

I am on my third cycle, 5th IUI.   

• I was wondering same thing gees, if i have to do like 5 wouldn't it be just as cheap to do IVF mine are 1500 a pop plus meds? i'm just learning so.......
  • Loading the player...
  • My insurance only required me to do 3 IUI cycles before moving on to IVF, so my doc was fine with giving the IUI 3 tries and then moving on... luckily I got pg before needing IVF~

GL

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • If there is a 20% cahnce of success, it might take 5 cycles (20x5 =100% chance of success).  That being said, I have read that if it doesn't work after 3 tries its pretty unlikely to work (chance of success drops after 3 tries) so I would really not want to try more than 3 times (just my opinion).

As for IUI vs IVF, people do multiple IUIs instead of IVF b/c IUIs are much less invasive and MUCH less expensive. I asked a similar question a few weeks ago andhave learned alot since then. I don't think I realized before that IUI is pretty simple procedure while IVF is pretty major (involving anesthesia and time out of work). Also I think (not entirely sure) that you need more and stronger drugs for IVF and I for one am most worried about all of these drugs - what they will do to me short term (mood swings S/E etc.) but even more so about what they will do to me long term.