Working Moms

Choosing work over being a SAHM?

Please no flames.  This is a really, really hard time right now.  I have a 3 1/2 year old and an almost four month old and I have been a mostly SAHM since my first was born.  I'm beginning to think I'm not cut out for the SAHM routine but I have been working at it for so long now that I feel like going back to work would be like quitting on my kids.  I have never been a highly career oriented individual so it's not as though work is calling to me.  I'm just beginning to believe that I suck at this and it might be better for everyone if I went back to work full time.  Better for everyone with the exception of our baby and that's hard to take.  However, I'm wondering if I'd actually be a better mom to my 3 yr. old and a more adjusted human being if we came at the battle from a different angle.

All  I thought I ever wanted was to be a SAHM mom and now I'm not sure of anything.  We certainly could use the money but that's not the driving force of my thought process.    DS is in daycare two days a week (I work part time) and thrives in the structure.  He cries sometimes and clings and wants to stay home but it's really brutal on our home days.  Perhaps it's me...

How did you know you didn't want to SAH?  Did any of you SAH and then choose to go back to work? Again, please no flames.  I know many of you would give anything to SAH and that's always been my frame of mind.  We have made so many sacrifices to do so but I'm trying to look at the big picture and maybe I need to consider some different options.

Thanks in advance for your kind perspective!

Re: Choosing work over being a SAHM?

• I don't think there is anything wrong with wanting to work.  Do you have the option to work full time at your current employer?

It sounds like you are having a hard time battling with this decision. When you say that it is really brutal on your home days, can you describe that? I don't know, maybe you just need a vacation :)