Working Moms

Is it really worth it? Sorry long...

I really don't know who to talk about this with other than DH (who says I should quit). I have loved my job (I'm an architect 2 exams away from getting my registration) and I have never wanted to be anything else growing up. However, after DS came into the picture I am finding it hard to get home and get 2 hours with him before he goes to bed. Right now I have a 45 minute commute and I get home, play a bit, feed him, we eat, he gets a bath, play for like 30 more minutes and he's ready for bed. Everything feels so rushed. And working part time is not an option here, thought that would be IDEAL! I do still love this, but I'm loving it less (some issues with PTO I won't go into). And basically the higher I climb, the more work I have and I see some of the people here, they live here. When DS goes into preschool and elementary school I will have to be the one there for him (or them by that time) since DH can't just leave early and is on call several days out of the month.

Well I just checked our bank account and DH's paycheck landed and it's for more than my whole year's salary. Which brings me back to my question, of is it really worth it?? I would love to get more serious about photography and I think I would love being an architectural photographer. And I'd also love to work out more (I'm a spinning instructor). But on the other hand I have great friends here, but we all know how that goes when you leave a place that you live far from...

Please don't flame me for the $ part, I'm not trying to be like that and I realize that a lot of moms work because they have to and all that. I don't want to talk to my friends for that reason. I don't know who to really talk to without coming off like that. Anyone have any advice?

Re: Is it really worth it? Sorry long...