February 2011 Moms

Will you get the flu shot this year?

I work with kids every day so I know my dr. will probaly want me to get this shot this year. I am on the fence right now and want to do what is best for my child. I plan on talking to her at my next appointment. What are your thoughts?
>Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Will you get the flu shot this year?

• I work in a hospital, most recently in their dental office doing registration.  I will not be getting the shot unless they attempt to force the stuff into our reluctant bodies again.  Thankfully we won last year and did not have to do it, I will fight against it this year as well if need be. 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• I'm a teacher and work with over 400 students throughout the year (all of 7th grade)!!  Even though I work with lots of kiddos I still don't think I'm going to get the shot.  I don't like to put anything into my body that I do HAVE to.
  • Loading the player...
  • My nurse practicioner said I could get the injection one, but not the nose spray one.  Apparently the injection one contains a dead version of the flu, and the nasal spray contains a weakened, live version.  I think I'll get a second opinion from my doctor just in case...
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic

• I know my Dr wants me to get it and I am sure we will talk about it at my next appt. I am not against it, I just don't want to be sick because I have no sick time!
  • I was planning on it, until I read today that it includes the H1N1 in it. I don't know how I feel about that. I did have DS get it last year, but I don't know if I like the idea of getting that shot while pregnant. I usually get the regular flu shot. I think if I can get one that is mercury free I am leaning towards yes... definitely not the nasal spray....but I don't know. I would bet that my midwife tells me to get it....