High-Risk Pregnancy

3cm cervix at 22 weeks- a teacher. Thoughts?

I hope it's ok to ask this here. I had my 22 weeks U/S last week (although really I'm 21 weeks- long story) and my cervix measured at exactly 3cm. I'm a kindergarten teacher and on my feet all day long. My doctor wants me to come back in a month for a follow up U/S to check for shortening and in the meantime, told me not to change my routine in any way. I assume he wants to get the most accurate picture of what's going on.

I'll admit I'm nervous. I know 3-5 is "normal" but he definitely seemed to imply that just 3 with a job like mine is worth monitoring and I'm glad he's being proactive. Just wondering if anyone had any thoughts? Is 3 good enough that I should try not to think about it for a month? How worried should I be? 

Thanks for any input. I'm telling myself there will be no change in a month but it's nerve wracking wondering if it's getting shorter every day and I won't know until September 21st!

Re: 3cm cervix at 22 weeks- a teacher. Thoughts?

• Is this your first pregnancy? Do you have any history that causes concern?

I've come to realize there's a lot of anxiety associated with pregnancy---wish I could be one of these women who breezes through!

I had a cervical length check at week 16, due to previous loss. At that time my cervix measured 4 cm. Unfortunately 2 weeks later is measured 3cm & after another 2 weeks was at 2cm. I think this demonstrated to me that my cervix wasn't going to shrink completely over night, unless labor started. I also did not change my routine, although I tried to limit my use of the stairs & stopped lifting, pushing, pulling.

I think if you have no history to indicate concern, that 4 weeks is reasonable until your next appt. If you feel a need to go in sooner, talk to your doc about the possibility of doing so. If you notice any changes, fluid leakage, bleeding, increased pelvic pressure call your doc immediately.

Good Luck!