Babies: 6 - 9 Months
Options

Weaning off of white noise

Tegan's been sleeping with white noise since she was 2 months old. We discovered that if we put on the white noise, gave her a pacifier and laid her down, she'd quietly drift off to sleep on her own. However, when she started daycare at 3 months old, we couldn't find a way to bring her white noise to the daycare and so her daycare naps were all over the place.

I've been home for the summer, but on August 10th, I have to start back to work (I'm a teacher) and Tegan will be going back to daycare 3 days a week. So, I'm weaning her off the white noise. It makes me sad because I know it calms her and helps her sleep, but I also know that it's important for her to learn how to fall asleep without it, since she can't have it at daycare. We're on our first nap without white noise although she does have lullabies playing, since they play those at daycare during naptime.

She was so upset when I laid her down and didn't put on the white noise. I finally had to go in and rock her to sleep, but she did fall asleep without the noise, so that's a plus. Ugh! Any suggestions on how to make this an easier transition?

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Weaning off of white noise

• Options
    I've never thought about having to ween DD off of white noise (both DH an I have to have fans going at night). Could you possibly start putting the white noise as low as it goes? Then she could hear, just at a lower pitch, and then you can turn it off all together.
  • Options
    Why do you have to?  I actually think it's better that she's used to going to sleep with some "noise" as oppose to a very quiet environment.  She wouldn't have such a quiet environment in daycare to take naps.  Can you have her sleep with one of those mommy bear or sleep sheep so she has her own personal white noise for nap time when she goes to daycare?
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Options