Babies: 6 - 9 Months
Options

DS starts daycare tomorrow

The time has finally come. I have been lucky enough to stay at home with him since he was born in November.  I am a teacher and school starts next week (ugh).  We are taking him to daycare tomorrow and Thursday to help him get acclimated, and then he will start full-time next Monday.

I can't believe eight months have passed already!  Any advice to help us with the transition?

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: DS starts daycare tomorrow

• Options

I don't have any advice, but I just wanted to say good luck!   I hope everything goes nice and smooth for you tomorrow!

• Options

When you drop off, try to keep it quick.  The longer you stay, the harder it is to leave.  Don't feel bad if you cry; they half-expect you to get teared up.

Our DC supplied all the fabric stuff.  I went ahead and brought in a new blankie ever week for her, tho.  It smelled like home & comforted her when she went down for naps. 

I'm a teacher, too.  I thought DC was horrible in the beginning, but I felt horrible when I took her out for the summer.  I'm a SAHM now, and feel even worse.  I make playdates for us, but I can't match that social interaction she got at DC.  She really did enjoy herself.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

Julia loves going to daycare, and I bet that your LO will like it a lot too, especially because he is probably getting to an age where he can start to interact with other babies. It will probably be way harder for you than for him. Whatever you do, do not show that you are sad at drop off or pick up. Pick ups are sometimes hard for me because she is having so much fun and doesn't get excited to see me right away all the time.

We had a tough time with the organization part of getting everyone out of the house with everything necessary & on time. So if you can plan ahead for this, it will help you.