Working Moms

mat. leave length

how long did you ladies take off? I'm looking at a possibly very short mat. leave because I work in education... my DH would actually be with her after just 2.5 weeks of me until 6-8 weeks. is this doable, is it sane?

Re: mat. leave length

• I would never have been ready to go back to work after 2.5 weeks (I'm a teacher). I honestly don't think you will get released to go back that early. I have a friend that returned after 6 weeks, she was miserable.
  • I took 6 months off, one month was before DS was born. Going back was so hard. Emotionally I wouldn't have been able to go back after 6 weeks. I was still a hormonal mess crying at anything and everything, not to mention sleep was still horrible. After 2.5 weeks I was still physically sore and had to sit on a donut pillow.
  • Loading the player...
  • There's no way I would have gone back after 2.5 weeks. My DD was still in the NICU then... and I was super sore still. I'm taking 15 weeks off, and I'm still not really "ready" to go back. I'm enjoying the much needed time off too much!
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • imageALG29:
    I took 6 months off, one month was before DS was born. Going back was so hard. Emotionally I wouldn't have been able to go back after 6 weeks. I was still a hormonal mess crying at anything and everything, not to mention sleep was still horrible. After 2.5 weeks I was still physically sore and had to sit on a donut pillow.

This is exactly what I did and exactly how I felt.  For me going back at 5 months pp was perfect.  I don't think it is physically responsible to go back at 2.5 weeks your body is still healing... 

• Why only 2.5 weeks?  Is that all the leave they'll let you take, or all the leave you currently have built up?