D.C. Area Babies

Peanut allergy

We took DD for allergy testing today and found out that she has a severe peanut allergy as well as some allergies to some trees, grasses, mold, dogs, cats, horses, etc.  We're trying to get our minds around it all. As I'm a teacher, I've been around many students with severe allergies and I know all about epi-pens and everything, but it's still scary when it's your own child.  Does anyone know of any good websites to read up on for more information?  Thanks.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Re: Peanut allergy

• When I used to do marketing work for associations I met with the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of American and they had a neat little "Allergies for Dumbies" book and since this was years ago, I'm sure they have that info, plus much more on their website now. That could be a good place to start.
  • sorry to hear about that cara, at least she didn't have a worse reaction at the playground.  I have had many parents say they are members of this site:

https://www.foodallergy.org/

at least you know it is totally manageable, is she touch also or just ingestion??  also how did you find out she had it(what prompted you to get the testing??) 

• Loading the player...
  • She's contact and ingestion.  We found out as she broke out in hives when we gave her some peanut butter.  She'd been eating it for a while with no problem, then bam! 
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers
  • DD has significant food allergies, including peanuts.  Supposedly she's also a little allergic to dogs, but we have three dogs and everything is okay in that area.  Dr. Wood's Allergies for Dummies is a great and easy resource - he's one of the premier allergy researchers and is at Johns Hopkins, with a peanut allergy himself.  The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN) is also a good resource.  www.foodallergy.org
  • that really sux, I'm so sorry!