2nd Trimester
Options

NBR - teaching vent (long)

I just had a small breakdown after work today. I'm a teacher in the Bronx and our principal gave us our assignments for next year. She knows that I will be out for 6 weeks and will be coming back. We're asked to make write down what we prefer, so I wrote 3rd grade, 2nd, 1st. 

She put me in 4th grade. Ok fine. She gave me a really out of control class (I know the kids, the teacher they had this year let them run wild). Ok, so hopefully I can whip them into shape. But worst of all, she is making me teach in an inclusion class with a woman who everyone hates and is just flat out MEAN and obnoxious to both the teacher AND the students. It is obvious that my principal hates this woman (she is very unprofessional and doesn't try to hide it) and I am stuck with her.  

People are telling me that I'm not going to care, I'm going to have a new family and that's all that will matter. I know that is true. But I'm still going to have to be in this work environment 5 days a week, 8 hours a day. Teaching is not a profession where you can just sit back and get through the day.

Thanks for listening/reading. I don't want to sound childish, I'm just shocked and freaking out about what next year will bring. I also can't help but feel that I'm being punished for being pregnant. I am trying to focus on this baby and hope that I can come to think of this as just a job, but it has been a huge part of my life for the last 5 years. 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Anniversary Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: NBR - teaching vent (long)

• Options

I can imagine your frustration:(  I hope it isn't nearly as bad as you are imagining, but I know what i can be like!

Be thankful you do have a full time job. Mine is cut in half, and we need the income! Stupid NYS.

Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
  • Options