Babies: 6 - 9 Months

Any college teachers here?

I am interviewing for a part-time position as a communications instructor at the local college here.  The interview consists of a panel-style interview portion as well as a teaching demo.  I'd appreciate any advice you might have!  I don't yet have professional teaching experience but I have a degree and have worked as a writer and editor for ten years.  I plan to set up a powerpoint presentation as part of my demo but want to stand out as unique and engaging.

Thanks in advance!

Re: Any college teachers here?

• I am an adjunct prof and I think you're on the right track. Showcasing what you know about technology and how you would use it in a lesson is great! Good luck!!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker www.gabsmommy.blogspot.com Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • If the school is anything like mine, I would include some sort of idea to make your ppt lesson "interactive".  Maybe print out a coordinating handout for them to fill in as if they were students in your class - or at least describe how you will make an "active learning environment". 

I teach Biology at my local college and "active learning" and "diversified methods of assessment" are the two key things going on right now.   

GL on your interview! 

• Loading the player...
  • MAtoNCMAtoNC member

I agree 100% with tmrsrm.

The days of straight lectures are over. Especially if you are teaching in a classroom environment with relatively small groups (as opposed to 300-people lecture halls, etc).

Many universities have teaching resources on their public websites. You can google the following terms: "Center for teaching excellence" or "Center for learning excellence" or "Center for educational excellence" (different universities call it different things). These webpages can give you some nice ideas.

Good Luck!